Need West Virginia Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in West Virginia is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of West Virginia auto insurance.

Like the majority of the states, West Virginia passed laws and regulations that require all drivers to carry insurance policies so they can cover possible accident damage and injury claims. At least a liability insurance is required and should include three minimum components: uninsured motorist coverage, bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. Driving without insurance is a violation of West Virginia laws and may be punished by a revocation of vehicle registration and suspension of driver’s license for a 90 day period, unless it is a first time offence (lesser penalty).

West Virginia car insurance is required to provide a minimum of $20,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $40,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage. All drivers should request the proof of insurance documents (insurance policy ID card, for example) from their insurance companies and always carry the proof of insurance in the car.

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average insurance expenditure in West Virginia in 2003 was $841.95 - slightly more than the national average insurance expenditure of $820.91. Another important fact is that West Virginia passed “S-30” law in April 2005. This law abolishes the majority of previous approvals of business lines rates and insurance plan forms.

Additional Resources for West Virginia Auto Insurance: