Need Texas Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Texas is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Texas auto insurance.

Like many other states, Texas requires drivers to carry at least a liability level of insurance protection before they can drive a vehicle. The liability insurance has to include bodily injury liability protection and property damage liability protection. The state law also establishes certain minimum limits for Texas car insurance policies. These policies should provide a minimum of $20,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $40,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $15,000 coverage for property damage.

It is a violation of law to drive a car without insurance in Texas. Non-compliance with the law can result in a fine of $75 and possible suspension of car registration and driver’s license (lesser penalty for first offence cases). Texas drivers have to be able to present the verification of insurance during vehicle registration and at the time of an accident. Starting September 1, 2005 the “SB 1670” law requires the Texas Department of Insurance to create a verification system for Texas car insurance.

Another important fact is that starting December 2004 the state of Texas moved to a “file and use” rating system that forces insurance companies to inform the Texas Department of Insurance when they increase policy rates. Also, the drivers who do not qualify for standard insurance policies can apply for the Texas Auto Insurance Plan Association program.

Additional Resources for Texas Auto Insurance: