Need South Dakota Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in South Dakota is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of South Dakota auto insurance.

There are a number of laws in South Dakota that deal with insurance requirements. Liability insurance is required by law for all drives in South Dakota. The minimum liability policy should include bodily injury liability coverage, uninsured motorist protection and property damage liability. Since South Dakota is not considered a no-fault state, personal injury protection is not required.

Certain minimum limits are also set for the South Dakota car insurance policies. To qualify, the liability insurance should have a minimum of $25,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $25,000 coverage for property damage.

Driving without insurance in South Dakota is prohibited by law and is punishable by suspension of driverís license for a period of 1 year. First offenders will usually have a smaller penalty. Proof of insurance should always be kept in the car. However, these proof documents are not necessary for car registration purposes. Another important fact is that South Dakota is one of the states with lowest insurance costs. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average insurance expenditure in South Dakota is $563.18.

Additional Resources for South Dakota Auto Insurance: