Need South Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in South Carolina is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of South Carolina auto insurance.

At this time the state of South Carolina laws state that liability insurance is mandatory for all state drivers. The liability insurance has to include bodily injury liability coverage, uninsured motorist protection and property damage liability coverage. South Carolina also has liability issuance minimum limits that are set to $15,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $30,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

According to the South Carolina state laws, insurance evidence should be presented during vehicle registration and should be kept in the vehicle at all times. Driving without insurance is a violation that can be punished by the suspension of driver’s license and vehicle registration and even 30 days in jail. First offenders are usually punished with a less serious penalty. If a resident of South Carolina can not obtain insurance policy from regular insurance companies, he or she can apply for the minimum insurance coverage policy through the Joint Underwriting Association.

It is important to know that state of South Carolina adopted the “computer data law”. This law requires insurance companies that sell South Carolina car insurance policies to provide the full list of current insurance policies to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Additional Resources for South Carolina Auto Insurance: