Need Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Rhode Island is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Rhode Island auto insurance.

Rode Island laws prohibit operating a motor vehicle without insurance policy. The required minimum insurance policy should provide at least the liability level of protection and should include bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability coverage and uninsured motorist protection. The minimum liability insurance limits in the state of Rode Island are set to 25/50/25: $25,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $25,000 coverage for property damage. Alternatively, Rode Island laws allow purchasing an insurance policy with a combined single limit.

At this time Rode Island laws donít require the proof of insurance to be presented during registration or to be carried inside the car all the time. However, any driver should have an active insurance policy. Non-compliance can result in a fine of 500 and possible confiscation of plates.

Rhode Island has relatively expensive insurance prices. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average car insurance expenditures in the state of Rhode Island in 2003 were $992.22. In July 2004, the state of Rhode Island adopted a flex rating law based on The National Conference of Insurance Legislators flex rating model act. This law permits insurance companies to rise or reduce rates up to 5% in a single year without waiting for regulatory authorization.

Additional Resources for Rhode Island Auto Insurance: