Need New Mexico Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in New Mexico is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of New Mexico auto insurance.

New Mexico belongs to the majority of the states that require drivers to purchase liability insurance before they can operate a vehicle. In New Mexico the liability insurance has to include at least the bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. The state minimums require the insurance policy to provide at least $25,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

In New Mexico it is mandatory for all drivers to present the evidence of insurance during the vehicle registration. Even though at this time New Mexico drivers donít have to keep the proof of insurance documents in the car, driving without the actual insurance policy is a violation of the law and is punished by a $100 fine. First offenders receive a less strict penalty.

Insurance companies that offer New Mexico car insurance policies are require by law to inform the Department of Motor Vehicles about policy cancellation or non-renewal cases. They are also required to validate randomly selected policies when asked by the DMV or other agency.

Additional Resources for New Mexico Auto Insurance: