Need Montana Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Montana is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Montana auto insurance.

Montana has state laws and regulations that require drivers to have liability insurance before they can drive a car. Like many of the other states, Montana requires liability insurance to include at least the bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. The minimum limits are set at 25/50/10: $25,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

Montana doesn’t require the verification of insurance to be presented during registration. Drivers are, however, required to always carry the proof of insurance inside the vehicle, especially at the time of an accident. Driving without insurance is a state law violation and can be punished by a fine of $250 or a jail sentence of no more than 10 days. First offenders usually receive punishment that is not as strict.

Insurance companies that operate in Montana are required to warn the Department of Motor Vehicles about Montana car insurance cancellations and non-renewals. Another important fact is that according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average insurance expense in Montana in 2003 was $674.22 ($380.55 for liability, $241.95 for collision and $231.82 for comprehensive), which is less than the national average of $820.91.

Additional Resources for Montana Auto Insurance: