Need Mississippi Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Mississippi is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Mississippi auto insurance.

Mississippi has insurance laws and regulations that are similar to many other states. Under these laws any driver is required to have a liability car insurance policy before a vehicle can be operated. The policy should include bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability. Starting January 1, 2006, the Mississippi state laws post a new minimum limit on insurance policies: 25/50/25. This means that insurance policy should provide at least $25,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $25,000 coverage for property damage.

Evidence of insurance is not required for car registration purposes in Mississippi. However, the driver is required to always carry evidence of insurance inside the car. Penalty for driving without insurance include a fine of $500 and suspension of car registration and driverís license. State of Mississippi also places requirements on insurance companies. They need to alert the Department of Motor Vehicles about insurance cancellation or non-renewal cases.

Mississippi has insurance expenses that are slightly below the national average. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average insurance expenditure in Mississippi was $709.45 in 2003 ($390.44 average liability coverage expenditure and $294.59 average collision protection expenditure).

Additional Resources for Mississippi Auto Insurance: