Need Minnesota Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Minnesota is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Minnesota auto insurance.

State of Minnesota has laws and regulations that are stricter than in most other states. Any driver is required to have liability insurance. In addition to the traditional bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage, Minnesota state law also requires uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection.

The minimum insurance requirements in Minnesota are 30/60/10: $30,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $60,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage. Proof of insurance is not required during the registration but is required to be kept inside the vehicle at all times. Driving without insurance could be penalized by a revocation of vehicle registration and/or driverís license for a period of 6 months. First offenders usually get less severe penalties.

If you are a resident of Minnesota, you are guaranteed a minimum car insurance coverage. If you are denied coverage by the regular insurance companies, you can apply for the Minnesota Auto Insurance Plan. Insurance companies in Minnesota are allowed to cancel policies within the first 59 days except for job and rental status or lack of past insurance reasons. Most of the Minnesota car insurance issues are handled by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

Additional Resources for Minnesota Auto Insurance: