Need Massachusetts Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Massachusetts is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Massachusetts auto insurance.

The state of Massachusetts has laws and regulations that oversee the car insurance requirements for state drivers. In addition to the traditional bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage, the state of Massachusetts also requires drivers to hold uninsured motorist protection and personal injury protection. The state minimum liability insurance requirements are: $20,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $40,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $5,000 coverage for property damage.

Drivers are required to present the proof of their insurance during the vehicle registration. Even though at this time in Massachusetts the proof of insurance is not required to be carried inside the vehicle at all times, you are still required to have an insurance policy before you start driving. Non-compliance may result in a $500 fine. First offence cases usually result in a less strict penalty.

Massachusetts has one of the most expensive average insurance expenditures in the nation. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the average insurance expense in Massachusetts was $1,051.60 in 2003 (ranked #4 in the nation where #1 is the most expensive). Currently Massachusetts has a very complex and overregulated insurance system. As a result, at this time only 19 insurance companies sell Massachusetts car insurance policies. The state is in the middle of a reform to replace the current systems with a new and more effective one.

Additional Resources for Massachusetts Auto Insurance: