Need Louisiana Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in Louisiana is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of Louisiana auto insurance.

Most of the states in US adopted laws and regulations that require at least a liability insurance policy for all motorists. State of Louisiana, for example, requires an insurance policy with bodily injury liability protection and property damage liability protection. The state liability insurance minimums are relatively low as compared to other states: $10,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $20,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

Driving without insurance can result in severe penalties: a fine of $25 to $500, vehicle impoundment and platesí confiscation. In the case of first offence circumstances the penalties are less severe. Proof of insurance has to be always present in the vehicle. A police officer may request you to show this proof of insurance to him or her at any time. Insurance evidence also needs to be presented during vehicle registration.

Louisiana has some of the most high-priced insurance prices in the nation. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, it was ranked #6 (#1 being the most expensive) in 2003. The average expenditures on Louisiana car insurance is $1,013.93 ($609.93 average liability expenditure and 355.95 average collision expenditure).

Additional Resources for Louisiana Auto Insurance: