Need California Auto Insurance Quotes?

Purchasing auto insurance in California is an important matter and as such, it deserves significant thought and consideration. Several factors may affect your decision regarding the type and amount of auto insurance that you choose to purchase. Regulations regarding auto insurance vary from one state to the next. Be sure to consider the following facts, when considering the purchase of California auto insurance.

The laws of the state of California require every driver to have a car insurance policy that satisfies several state conditions and regulation. Bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage is a minimum requirement for the liability level of protection. The insurance minimum is 15/30/5: $15,000 coverage for bodily injury for any one person, $30,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons injured and $5,000 coverage for property damage.

There is an Automobile Assigned Risk Plan pilot program that started in January 1, 2000 and is operational until January 1, 2007. Under this program the insurance limits are set to 10/20/3 for the low-income drivers in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

Evidence of insurance is required at all times inside the car and has to be presented in DMV during the registration process. The fine for driving without insurance is $100. Registration can also be suspended. At the time of the accident any insurance company is required to verify that the California car insurance policy holder indeed has the insurance coverage.

For some time the state of California didnít have the territorial rating system that allowed insurance companies to use different rates depending on the location. In December 2000 the California state appeals court overturned previous decision and allowed to set insurance rates using the zip code.

Additional Resources for California Auto Insurance: